What to do for a little guy addicted to sugar

DSC_2945 (800x533)

It’s a little scary how much Brown likes sugar. We went to a birthday party on Sunday, and his chocolate sprinkle cupcake was all done when all his little friends had only taken a few bites out of their sprinkle cupcakes. It was a really hard time because the daddy who made them was for sure trying his best, but he made not only cupcakes, all with different icing tops, but cupcake cones (I’d never seen those in person!), and a big cake. So of course Brown wanted to try all three and really lost it when I only gave him a cupcake and a piece of cake (only!).

It makes me really sad because I want to give him treats but it almost always ends in tears when I do, or me feeling so frustrated because he pushes pushes, pushes for more. And the thing is, I really understand! Or I think I do! Because I feel the same way. One cookie is never enough, it just opens the door to wanting more and more cookies. I’ve found for myself that the best way to keep it in check is either to be incredibly mindful when eating a sweet (that is not happening with a 1 yo and a 3 yo), or just not eat them at all. I feel so much better when I cut out sweets entirely, so I’m trying a little experiment on Brown.

Two days ago, we went to a friends house in the afternoon, and she gave him a snack of banana, dried apricots (Brown’s request), a few wheat thins and a honey rice cake. I watched his eyes glaze and his frustration rise. He was like a little bulldog in her house, bouncing into walls and just acting nutty. We left.

Yesterday I decided to make a big change and make him a really nice snack with no sugar at all. I used a little bento (sassy makes a very pretty one), and into it’s compartments I put cubes of manchego cheese, carrot sticks, and ryvitta crackers. The reaction was much better than I had hoped! I thought he would complain at once and ask for dried fruit, but instead he had fun combining the different tastes, and seeing what went well with what. Carrot stick and cheese together was a big hit. I think the whole thing was cute enough that he didn’t even notice the absence of sweet. He was also much nicer afterward, and never got glazed.

I tried again today, and made the snack I took the not so great picture of above: Roasted almonds, nicely sliced hard boiled egg, and corn crackers. Very weird, but hard boiled egg and roasted almond compliment each other magnificently. And again, no crazy kid.

We’re just starting out on this, but I have high hopes. And don’t worry, he’ll get cupcakes too, even if I want to pout about it.

your momfriend,

Eva

Leave a comment